Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 12th, 2010

Voilà!

Twelve hours of sleep have made a world of difference in my outlook on life, the universe and everything. And the chicken carbonara pasta breadbowl that’s on its way should make things even better. It’s a little after one a.m. and I am starving! I woke up just at midnight and realized I just don’t feel like cooking myself breakfast (in the classic sense of “breaking my fast”). I already knew I didn’t want to go out in the cold (28 degrees F right now)… or even get dressed, plus I have three other hungry people here now, so I ordered from that pizza place that shares its name with a popular game with older folks (and the BC13, strangely enough). The online order tracker shows that Jorge left the store with our food about 4 minutes ago, so this is gonna be a short post. I’m sure you all understand.

I’ll be starting a new knitting project after I eat and I’m thinking it’ll be some mitts for my FIL. I have a skein of Noro Silk Garden that matches (or is the same as) one of the two colorways from his Christmas scarf and I have a pattern for convertible fingerless mitts that I found on mumblemumble’s blog. (When I find the pattern, post-food, I’ll credit it properly. Promise.)

Stay warm, kittens!

UPDATE: So I found the pattern, which is a free PDF download on Glenna C’s blog. It’s called “Podster Gloves” and I can’t wait to cast on. However, I can’t use the Noro Silk Garden on these, as it’s at least twice as thick as the yarn called for.

Instead, I thought I might use some superwash-wool sock yarn from the stash, long  (5 years) ago ordered from elann.com. It’s Sock It to Me Essential 4-ply in a warm brown (color 7499).

In fact, it’s the same yarn I used to make my first pair of socks. Check it out:

My first sock ever, starting the cuff

I can’t find my picture of the finished pair, but the date/time stamp on this picture shows that I took it on Feb 3, 2005. Toe-up, of course. I did them as part of Sockapalooza 2.

Anyway, that’s the yarn and I have a full 230-yard skein, plus a pretty good amount left over from the sock project. However, the pattern calls for 450 yards, so this may be a no-go.

Pardon me while I hit the stash to look for more leftovers.

I’m back!

No luck, though.

What to do?

Hm. Well, guess I’ll have to go with a different mitt pattern this time and save the amazing Podster Gloves for a different yarn and a (not much) later date. I really want to make them and soon.

I also really want to start these FIL mitts tonight, but there are no open yarn stores at 4 a.m. (which it is now), and I do like the idea of using the Noro, so…

Enough dithering.

Time to cast on.

Updates to follow, of course.

Read Full Post »

the twisted yarn

Knitting, crochet, running, and silliness.

Allen Finley Photography

Wedding and Event Photography for Florida. Wedding, Engagement, Portraits, Headshots, Commercial and Fashion Photography

knit the hell out

More obsessed with each passing stitch.

The Bookaneer

Adventures In and Out of the Library

The Archaeologist's Guide to the Galaxy.. by Thomas Evans

Reviews of Science Fiction, Fantasy, Mysteries and Espionage